Mission Statement

Reduce injuries and fatalities associated with traffic crashes in Wright County, Minnesota through safety education and prevention.


The Safe Communities model addresses traffic safety issues through a multifaceted approach known as the 4 Es – Education, Enforcement, Engineering, and Emergency Medical Services. SCWC collaborates with a broad base of local leadership to address these areas and make Wright County roads safer for everyone.


In 1997, a group of concerned citizens noted the high number of crashes and fatalities occurring in Wright County and came together to address the issue.
Today, Safe Communities of Wright County has formalized to become a 501c3 nonprofit organization that is on the leading edge of traffic safety in our state and across the country.


  • Buffalo Hospital
  • Allina Health EMS
  • Annandale Police Department
  • Buffalo Police Department
  • CentraCare Health - Monticello
  • Howard Lake Police Department
  • Wright County Sheriff’s Office
  • Wright County Highway Department
  • Wright County Public Health
  • Wright County Attorney's Office
  • Wright County Board of Commissioners
  • Wright County Court Services
  • Wright County School Districts: Annandale, Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose, Dassel-Cokato, Delano, Howard Lake, Maple Lake, Monticello, Rockford, and St. Michael-Albertville
  • MN Department of Public Safety – Office of Traffic Safety
  • MN Department of Transportation
  • MN State Patrol

Board of Directors

Safe Communities of Wright County 2017 Board Members
Trooper Kevin Brisk MN State Patrol
Chief Pat Budke (*Board Chair) Buffalo Police Department
Sheriff Joe Hagerty Wright County Sheriff Office
Virgil Hawkins Wright County Highway Engineer
Karla Heeter Buffalo Hospital
Chief Jeff Herr Annandale Police Department
Christine Husom Wright County Board of Commissioners
Tom Kelly Wright County Attorney
Mike MacMillan Wright County Court Services
Brian Nord Allina Health EMS
Laurie Raymond Buffalo School Board
Sarah Grosshuesch Wright County Public Health
Superintendent Matt Schoen Delano Public Schools
Chief Dave Thompson Howard Lake Police Department
Jon Young - CPS Trainer Wright County Public Health
Dan Zachman (*Treasurer/Secretary) Business Seat – Zachman Insurance

Fatal Review Committee

Fatal Review Committee 2017
Captain Dan Anselment Wright County Sheriff's Office
Virgil Hawkins Wright County Highway Department
Pat Hackman Safe Communities of Wright County
Sheriff Joe Hagerty Wright County Sheriff's Office
Brian Nord Allina Health EMS
Trooper Kevin Brisk Minnesota State Patrol
Joel Torkelson Wright County Public Health
Jill Hylla WC Public Health - Alcohol Programs

Executive Director

Pat Hackman

What can I do?

What can I do?

Seat belts save lives. Every person should buckle up in every seat every time.

Drive safe, drive smart, and drive the speed limit.

Crashes aren't accidents. Pay attention always!

Buzzed driving is drunk driving. Impairment begins with the first drink. Never drive drunk or get into a vehicle with a drunk driver!


How can I help?

Become a partner with SCWC and help reduce crashes in your community.

You can help make Wright County a safer place to travel. There are a variety of ways that you can become involved to promote traffic safety among your neighbors, family, friends, employees and customers.

> More on how you can help.